Caramelized Chicken with Mushroom Jalapeño Cream Sauce and Cilantro Brown Rice

mushroom chikey

I like to cook. I am not a strict recipe follower and my Hubby does not approve of this. He is the kind of person that needs strict order to things, I am not. If we are missing one ingredient for the recipe we either have to pick another one or quickly run to the grocery store for that one thing. I, in the other hand, will substitute it with something else we have at home. I like the freedom cooking gives you when it comes to those things.

Since my Hubby does not like any sort of tomato sauce I am always on a lookout for new cream sauces to try. When I found this recipe on one of the lovely blogs I follow I had to try it out, but alas, I was lacking a few ingredients. One day when I do have all of the ingredients it calls for I will follow it word for word, but this time I just took some inspiration and used what I had on hand at home. The finished dish was delicious and very flavorful. I plated the chicken on top a bed of cilantro brown rice and chopped fresh spinach. Enjoy!

Chicken with Mushroom Jalapeno Sauce

Serves 4
4 chicken breast
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium onion, finely chopped
2 jalapeños, chopped and seeded
8 crimini mushrooms, chopped
2 tbsp. butter or olive oil
1 ½ tbsp. flour
1 ½ cups of 2% milk, whole milk will work as well
salt and pepper to taste

Season both sides of chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Place in a hot skillet with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and caramelize until cooked through and golden on both sides.

While the chicken is cooking, in a saucepan over medium heat add 2 tablespoons of olive oil (or butter). Once oil is hot, add in the chopped jalapeños and onions. Cook until onion is translucent and jalapeños are fragrant, about 4 minutes. Add garlic and mushrooms and stir so the garlic does not burn, about 2 minutes. Add the flour and stir continuously to create a roux. Cook mixture for 1-2 minutes, then add the milk. Reduce heat to medium-low. Continue to stir until mixture begins to thicken, about 6-8 minutes. Taste and season with salt and pepper. Once it’s as thick as you want it, turn off heat. It will thicken more as it cools.

Place chicken on top of veggies and rice then spoon the sauce all over.

YUM!

Leave a Reply

