Minty Goodness

close-up

Hello all!
With St. Patty’s Day just around the corner and the SouthSide Irish Parade this weekend I figured why not make something for the holiday. I don’t celebrate St. Patrick’s Day and have never been to the SouthSide Irish Parade. The whole drinking from the time you wake up to the time you eventually pass out in a drunken stupor has never appealed to me. So this is the closest to celebrating St. Patrick’s Day I will get… this year at least.

I created a Chocolate Cupcake with Mint Cream Cheese Frosting. The cake is just a regular chocolate cake recipe but I added a little instant coffee to the batter to enhance the chocolate flavor. Cream cheese frosting was not my first choice for this cupcake but I had no heavy whipping cream on hand but I did have cream cheese. I made a tiny cupcake batch so half a bar was more than enough. The cream cheese blended well with the peppermint extract. I was afraid the cream cheese flavor would be too overwhelming. I even had a helper in the kitchen, as you can see. He’s a useless helper though.

annoying-helper

mixing

Here is the recipe if you want to know how I made it.

Mint Cream Cheese Frosting

4oz. Cream Cheese (room temp.)
2 tbsp. Butter (room temp.)
7 tbsp. Powdered Sugar
1/4 tsp. Peppermint Extract
1 tsp. milk
Green Food Coloring

Combine all ingredients in a standing mixer bowl and mix well.

closeup2

Yummy!

Leave a Reply

